I Want to Write Different Words for You

I want to write different words for you

To invent a language for you alone

To fit the size of your body

And the size of my love.

 

I want to travel away from the dictionary

And to leave my lips

I am tired of my mouth

I want a different one

Which can change

Into a cherry tree or a match box,

A mouth from which words can emerge

Like nymphs from the sea,

Like white chicks jumping from the magician’s hat.

~~ Nizar Qabbani

(photo credit: tangoclay.us)

Leave a Reply

