Getting inspiration from subgenres

typewriter and stain

(Stolen from nofilmschool.com)

Has anybody ever asked you how you come up with ideas for your writing? I hate that question, because the answer is always “It depends….” Some days I can’t keep up with the ideas my crazy Muse Dolores is throwing at me like a pitching machine gone mad. Other days, I suspect Dolores has emptied my bank account and run away to a sandy island in the Pacific, and that’s when I know I need to get myself unstuck.

One way I come up with ideas when I need to write and my inspiration has fled is by considering various subgenres.  Here’s a list I came up with. See if you can add any to it.

  • Numbered list (Top 5 ….)
  • Review (movie, TV, book, video game, sports event, restaurant, product)
  • Response to something you saw online
  • Response to something that happened in a class
  • Response to a controversial issue – take a strong stance
  • Recipe
  • Advice
  • A compelling memory
  • How-to
  • Hobby
  • Where I live
  • Tips for ….
  • Writing (writers love to write about writing)
  • Rant (If I can’t find something that pisses me off, I’m in trouble.)
One thought on “Getting inspiration from subgenres

Leave a Reply

